MANLY PAVILION MANLY
This Interwar Mediterranean Bathing Pavilion was built in 1933 by the Manly Steamship Company as a change room and tea room for bathers who arrived by ferry from the city to swim in the netted harbour bathing pool.
The adaptive re-use of this building for purposes of a restaurant and function space involved restoration works that included the demolition of previous unsympathetic additions, structural repairs, the rebuilding of the archways in the original tea room, repair and replication of terrazzo staircases, ceramic fountains, urns, tiles and bronze light fittings and painting of the building.
The new restaurant has a timeless quality. By taking cues from the 30’s Mediterranean pavilion and by using materials in their natural state, it relates well to the surrounding harbour landscape.
We acknowledge the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the land on which we work, and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and emerging.